

Breviate of the Traffic and Transport Strategic Policy Committee meeting held on 7th February, 2024

1. Minutes of Traffic and Transport SPC Meeting 8th November, 2023

Noted and agreed

2. Correspondence – reply from Minister for Education on foot of motion regarding School Bus System

Noted

3. City Centre Transport Project – Report on Public Consultation. Presentation by Brendan O'Brien and Hugh Creegan NTA

The presentation highlighted objective SMTO5 of the Dublin City Development Plan 2022 – 2028, which requires a review of the City Centre Transport Study 2016. Also referenced was the many policies and objectives both in Chapter 8 of the City Development Plan, (Sustainable Movement and Transport) and the NTA's Greater Dublin Area Transport Strategy. All of which encompasses to create a challenge for the City Council Executive.

The main proposals of the plan where set out.

The changes on the centre city guays will start in summer of 2024

The public consultation showed there was broad supportive for the plan

Members of the SPC Committee were in support of the plan but called for a high level of communication with residents and businesses going forward.

Report and presentation noted.

4. Report on the proposed Draft Skip Bye Laws, 2024 Conrad Rennicks, Administrative Officer

It is recommended that the Traffic and Transport Strategic Policy Committee refer the Draft Dublin City Council Skip Bye-Laws, 2024 to the full City Council for approval to initiate the public consultation process.

Report noted and recommendation agreed

5. Note re Parking Enforcement Workshop.

It was agreed to extend the invitation to the Workshop to all Councillors. The date for the workshop is 20th March, 2024

6. Active Travel Programme Office Update including breakdown of spending in 2023 – Christopher Manzira, Deputy Programme Director)

Report noted

7. Report on Expenditure on Pedestrian Crossings in 2023 – Claire French, Senior Executive Engineer.

It was noted that 3.5 million euros in extra funding for 2024 from the NTA was confirmed on the day of the meeting.

Report noted

8. List of Committees in the Department of Transport of which the Executive of Dublin City Council is a member.

List noted.

9. AOB

Brendan O'Brien on behalf of the executive thanked the committee for their contribution over the term of the SPC and wished all who were competing in the upcoming local elections the best of luck.

Councillor Noeleen Reilly Chairperson 7th February 2024

Attendance:

SPC Members:

Chair, Councillor Noeleen Reilly; Councillor Caroline Conroy; Councillor Deirdre Conroy; Councillor Keith Connolly; Councillor Daniel Céitinn; Councillor Mannix Flynn; Councillor Janet Horner; Councillor Paddy McCartan; Councillor Larry O'Toole; Councillor Michael Pidgeon; Councillor Anne Feeney;

Mr Martin Hoey, Public Participation Network; Mr Colm Ryder, Dublin Cycling Campaign; Richard Guiney Dublin Town, Mr Keith Gavin, Irish Parking; Stephen Browne, Dublin Chamber; Gary Kearney, Public Participation Network

Non-Members:

Councillor Donna Cooney; Councillor Ray McAdam.

Dublin City Council Staff:

John Flanagan, Assistant Chief Executive; Brendan O'Brien, Head of Technical Services (Traffic); Christopher Manzira; Senior Transportation Officer, Active Travel Programme; Linda McDonald. A/Parking Enforcement Officer; Michele Murphy, Senior Executive Planner, Active Travel; Mary Boyle, A/Senior Staff Officer; Edel Joy Staff Officer; Michael Mann Staff Officer; Fergal McKay, Assistant Staff Officer.

Others:

Mr Hugh Creegan, Deputy Chief Executive, National Transport Authority (NTA).

Apologies: Councillor Jane Horgan Jones